The 2015 Sony World Photography Awards are open for entries. Professional, amateur, youth and student photographers from across the world can enter their best work for free at

Since its launch in 2007, over 700,000 images from 230 countries have been submitted to the Sony World Photography Awards.

The most recent winner of the L’Iris d’Or/ Photographer of the Year title is American photographer Sara Naomi Lewkowicz for her series ‘Shane and Maggie’ a powerful and intimate examination of domestic violence as a process.

Sara Naomi LewkowiczSara Naomi Lewkowicz, USA, L’iris D’or, 2014 Sony World Photography Awards

Sara Naomi LewkowiczSara Naomi Lewkowicz, USA, L’iris D’or, 2014 Sony World Photography Awards

The winner of the 2015 L’Iris d’Or/Photographer of the Year title and the Open Photographer of the Year will both receive cash prizes. All category winners will receive the latest digital imaging equipment from Sony, and the Student Focus winner will receive a range of new, cutting edge Sony digital imaging equipment for his or her university. Winning and shortlisted photographs will also be published in the 2015 edition of the Sony World Photography Awards book and exhibited at Somerset House, London.

Overall winners will be announced at a gala ceremony held in London on 23 April 2015.

The 2015 Sony World Photography Awards include the following competitions:

– Professional – 15 categories judged on a series of work
– Open – 10 categories judged on a single image
– Youth – three categories for photographers under 20. Judged on a single image
– Student Focus – for higher education photography students aged 18-30

The Open and Youth competitions will close for entries at 23.59 GMT on Monday 5 January 2015 with the exception of the Professional competition, which will close at 23.59 GMT on Thursday 8 January 2015. Entries to the Student Focus competition close on 6 December 2014.

Further details can be found at


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.